For optimal performance, please use Chrome or Firefox as your browser. Safari is not recommended.

Yoga Nidra

Yoga Nidra is a centuries-old meditation practice, often referred to as yogic sleep, though going to sleep is not the intent of the practice. Through the use of breath awareness, body scanning, and imagery, you will be invited to simply become aware of your experience and sensations without needing to change, fix, or resolve anything. This is a meditation where there is truly nothing for you to do but notice — supporting you in feeling empowered, awakened, and whole just as you are. Additionally, experiencing this practice can feel like two to three hours of deep rest to your body. Typically you will practice Yoga Nidra lying down, supported with bolsters or pillows, and covered with a blanket. The practice can also be experienced resting on your side or sitting up, if lying down is uncomfortable or feels too vulnerable. No yoga or meditation experience is needed and all levels are welcome. No special apparel is needed or required, but we suggest wearing layers for warmth.

Upcoming Classes


Thursday - February 09, 2023 / EST
Yoga Nidra
Thursday 2/9/2023
7:30 pm - 8:30 pm

Matthew
Circle Yoga Cooperative
Thursday - February 16, 2023 / EST
Yoga Nidra
Thursday 2/16/2023
7:30 pm - 8:30 pm

Matthew
Circle Yoga Cooperative
Thursday - February 23, 2023 / EST
Yoga Nidra
Thursday 2/23/2023
7:30 pm - 8:30 pm

Matthew
Circle Yoga Cooperative
Thursday - March 02, 2023 / EST
Yoga Nidra
Thursday 3/2/2023
7:30 pm - 8:30 pm

Matthew
Circle Yoga Cooperative
Thursday - March 09, 2023 / EST
Yoga Nidra
Thursday 3/9/2023
7:30 pm - 8:30 pm

Matthew
Circle Yoga Cooperative
Thursday - March 16, 2023 / EST
Yoga Nidra
Thursday 3/16/2023
7:30 pm - 8:30 pm

Matthew
Circle Yoga Cooperative
Thursday - March 23, 2023 / EST
Yoga Nidra
Thursday 3/23/2023
7:30 pm - 8:30 pm

Matthew
Circle Yoga Cooperative
3838 Northampton Street NW, Washington, DC 20015